Prayer for Cleansing and Pardon ( Psalms 51: 1-8)

Psalms 51:

1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to thy steadfast love;

    according to thy abundant mercy blot out my transgressions.

Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,

    and cleanse me from my sin!

For I know my transgressions,

    and my sin is ever before me.

Against thee, thee only, have I sinned,

    and done that which is evil in thy sight,

so that thou art justified in thy sentence

    and blameless in thy judgment.

Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity,

    and in sin did my mother conceive me.

Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward being;

    therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart.

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;

    wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Fill me with joy and gladness;

    let the bones which thou hast broken rejoice.

Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition (RSVCE)
2 Replies to “Prayer for Cleansing and Pardon ( Psalms 51: 1-8)”

  1. This is my favourite psalm of all time! One that I pray everyday and I so wish that more people would pray it. What a great reminder that we are truly a blessing to God and He’s ready to forgive every single sin that we have ever committed. What a great God we have! (btw in the title you wrote psalm 51 but in the beginning of the blog you wrote psalms 55)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

